Orsini, Binder & Clark-Peterson elected to McKinleyville town board



Mad River Union

Greg Orsini

Scott Binder

McKINLEYVILLE – Greg Orsini, Scott Binder and Joellen Clark-Peterson were elected to the McKinleyville Community Services District Board of Directors on Election Day, Nov. 3. 

Orsini and Binder were vying for two four-year seats on the MCSD board, which oversees sewer, water, streetlights, open space maintenance, parks and recreation in the unincorporated community.

Orsini was the top voter-getter, with 2,747 votes, or 36.52 percent. Binder received 2,583 votes, or 34.34 percent. William McBroome received 2,192 votes, or 29.14 percent.

Orsini and Binder will fill seats on the board now occupied by John Corbett and Mary Burke, who didn’t seek reelection.

Joellen Clark-Peterson

The winner of a two-year seat on the board is Joellen Clark-Peterson, who received 2,784 votes, or  63.88 percent, according to the final count on election night. 

Challenger Wesley Martin received 1,126 votes, or 25.84 percent, and Jimmy Vance received 448 votes, or 10.28 percent.

Clark-Peterson will fill a seat occupied by Shel Barsanti, who also did not seek reelection.

The new board members will take their seats in January.


Related posts